Events & Awards

Pro Bono Awards 2019

Eastern Cape

Our office has been very fortunate that so many attorneys and advocates have been so eager to pitch in and give of their time. This year we are pleased to have two recipients of the award as they have both stood out in different areas.

The individual award goes to Leigh Windvogel of Van Zyl’s Inc who puts many hours in at the Pro Bono office, is always willing to lend a helping hand and is a dependable presence in the office.

The firm award goes to Boyens Attorneys. The firm takes on many matters referred from the office and Mr Boyens often makes himself available outside of the regular pro bono office hours to assist where he can.


The individual award goes to Preshni Govender from PG Attorneys. Preshni assists in the office every week, takes on a large number of matters, and has been very helpful in guiding and assisting the students this year.

The firm award goes to Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr for their unwavering support of the project, in terms of hours spent by their attorneys in the office, their financial contribution, and for the time that Michael Yeates spends as an NPC Director, and Nicholas Preston as the chapter Pro bono portfolio holder last year.


The KZN individual award is being given to Sanelisiwe Nyasulu of Garlicke & Bousfield inc for her commitment and numerous hours which she dedicates to the SASLAW Probono Project.   Sanelisiwe ensures each client seen properly understands their circumstances and gives real attention to each individual and their specific matters.  She is also always willing to assist students with mentoring and promoting of the labour law field.

The KZN Firm award for the second-year running is being given to Garlicke & Bousfield Inc for their unwavering support of the project and the time put into the clients by a number of their attorneys as well as CA’s.  They go the extra mile to assist with matters and are a huge contributor to the success of the project in KZN.

Cape Town

The firm award for the Western Cape has been confirmed for TSEPO NWEDAMUTSU of MacRobert Attorneys and Jaimé-Lee Jacobs from Herold Gie Attorneys.  We have acknowledged these participating attorneys based on their stats which indicates their true commitment to SASLAW NPC and providing access to justice to many clients who would not have otherwise been able to do so. Tsepo and Jaimé-Lee are always willing to assist no matter how demanding their schedules are. We are grateful for their service toward the NPC office.

The firm award for the second-year running was awarded to MacRobert Attorneys. A well-deserved nomination to a team who always shows their commitment and support when needed.